Couch to 5k – ready, set, go!

I found this great Couch to 5k running plan to go literally from being a couch potato to running a 5k in 9 weeks and I am so excited about it!  I discovered it from Inhabit the Beauty who I discovered from Skinny Emmie.  I’m really loving the weight loss blogging community!

I used an awesome free app called C25K Trainer, which told me when to switch and counted down time for me.  I really appreciated it – was so glad I found it. You can use it with your own music on your iPhone and it even Tweets out your progress if you want it to. It’s available in the iTunes App Store.  There are a lot of other apps that do similar things but I thought this one looked the best.

So the first week in the plan has me walking 5 minutes and then spending 20 minutes alternating between jogging 60 seconds and walking 90 seconds. It doesn’t sound hard on paper but it is for me – I have never run that much since grade school, even when I was in a working out phase.  I made the mistake of not stretching out the first time I tried it and within 15 seconds my calves were giant balls of fire!  I’m now recalling the time spent stretching them out back when I used to work out.  Lesson learned!  I made it about 10 minutes before I literally could not bear the pain.  Second attempt was at the gym today and I made it!  I took about four breaks where I stretched out my burning calves and got my heart rate down from a ridiculous level (it was about 160 and needed to be 144) but I made it all the way through.  I didn’t Tweet my progress but I thought about it 😉

One thought on “Couch to 5k – ready, set, go!

  1. Pingback: I joined Eastside Gym! | Soul in the Scale

Leave a Reply

